Week 8 Activity

For the activity this week, we had to make a remix. I chose a few poems that I liked and I put pieces of the poems together to make one remixed poem. I got the poems off of familyfriendpoems.com. The theme of the poems was life. I was a bit overwhelmed for this week’s activity because I’ve never made a remix before and I had no idea what to do. I ended up going with poetry and it was a very easy activity. I was happy with the way everything turned out and it’s sort of like my own personal poem.

Although I am not very good at writing poems, I like to read them. The way that poems are written and the tone used makes you really feel that the author is portraying instead of just reading it. Many times when you read a poem, you can connect with it and it reminds you of your own experiences.

This remixed poem talks about life struggles and lessons. I think remixing is fun because you start off with something and tweak it a little and you get something totally unique and new. When you remix something, you add in a little bit of your own creativity and style and make it yours.

Take my hand and lead me down the road
Bundle me up, keep me from the cold
Step by step, my feet constantly ache
Rock by rock, my poor legs start to shake…

I’ll be happy once I’ve done this certain thing.
We all say this often not realizing what it brings.
We look only to the future for our happiness.
Letting life slip through our fingers in its fullness….

If at times you feel you want to cry.
And life seems such a trial.
Above the clouds there’s a bright blue sky
So make your tears a smile. …

Leave a Reply

