Week 11 Artist Interview

The work of Arezoo Bharthania caught my eye at the gallery this week. Her work is called Escape the Gaze of the Blind Censor. The artist was not present to be interviewed so I had a lot of questions that were left unanswered. Her artist statement describes what she was trying to convey. She was talking about some kind of tyrant that everyone had to hide from.

Her work included curtains, windows, and anything that was used to hide you from someone. There was Arabic writing everywhere so I think she is referring to a Middle Eastern country. I think that there is definitely a very important message she is trying to convey but I wasn’t completely sure what she was “hiding from”.

A window is enough for me... A window to the instance of light, insight and peace

A window is enough for me… A window to the instance of light, insight and peace

What if he knows something that I know What if the day after tomorrow, I'm Keyhan's number one headline

What if he knows something that I know
What if the day after tomorrow, I’m Keyhan’s number one headline

The women Quarter

The women Quarter

My guess is that she is referring to a Middle Eastern country whose laws are very oppressive, causing her to hide from the tyrant. She says that she is only free behind closed doors. I believe that although most Middle Eastern countries are not like this, unfortunately there are still a few countries who are oppressive towards the people and thus are tyrants.

Leave a Reply

